What to Wear With: Wedges

WTWW: Wedges

Whew! It’s been a while since I blogged a fashion-related post. Well, here it is! Today’s topic is wedges. You may probably recognize this trend since it has been around for quite a long time. Wedges are great especially if you’re not one of those people who can last for hours in a pair of stilettos, but still need the extra oomph! Here are some ideas on how to wear wedges:

I, personally, don’t choose to wear wedge slides, but they are as great as wedge sandals. I think pairing a reasonably high wedge slides would look great with a pair of shorts. In this set, I chose to pair a color block top with some printed denim shorts, add some funky sunglasses, and finish with a hobo printed shoulder bag.Β When I think of high heels (wedges or stilettos), I immediately think of the word “sophisticated”. This look is very laid-back which balances the sophistication of the wedge slides.

WTWW Series -- Wedges
Another trend that I’m seeing a lot this summer is wearing a romper with wedges. Again, I would probably choose a reasonable height for my heels especially when wearing shorts, skirts, or rompers. I chose this particular pair of wedges because of the print, but it would be nice to have them in a lower heel height. I paired the rose-colored romper with a basic cardigan. You can pull the sleeves up if you think it’s too hot for a cardigan or you can choose to wear this ensemble at night. The belt — you can do so much with it. You can either tie it on the romper or outside on the cardigan or you can choose to not wear it at all. I like the lavender belt, though since it contrasts the colors in the romper. It’s an unexpected pop of color, but since it is still in the red family, it’s not overpowering the pinks. I finished the look with bangles that matches the romper. When accessorizing for a look like this, less is definitely more.
WTWW Series -- Wedges

Last, and definitely on the least: colors! I can’t get enough of it! For this look, I paired a coral-colored dress with some tribal, but colorful belt, mint green earrings, and a soft neutral messenger bag to tone down the girly vibe from the ruffles of the dress. When dealing with dresses, you can opt for higher than usual wedges. They will make your legs look longer, and you can thank me later.

WTWW Series -- Wedges

So, what do you think? Do you own any wedges? Would you wear this trend? What’s your favorite outfit to pair with wedges? Tell me all about it in the comments below! πŸ™‚

12 comments
  1. i LOVE wedges, particularly Jeffrey Campbell. I definitely rock them with short shorts or a miniskirt and flowy top. best look of the summer.

    • Ooo..this is the first time I’ve heard of Jeffrey Campbell. I immediately googled it. His shoes are fab!! πŸ˜€ I’ll definitely check it out next time I’m on Urban Outfitters or South Moon Under! πŸ™‚ Thanks.

  2. noirai said:

    I have Steve Madden Tuscaan (cognac).
    I put them on with high waisted shorts and a white shirt with gold cuffs/bracelet to match with the shiny gold hardware in the shoe.

    I’m new here , do check on my blog πŸ™‚
    http://noirai.wordpress.com/

    • That look sounds fierce! I will check out your blog πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I like all the looks but I particularly like the mix of floral patterns. It’s just so wonderfully chic when it’s done well like your outfit featured here. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • You’re welcome, and thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      I checked out your blog & it’s really good. Keep it up!

Leave a comment